Go!

Hahnemühle Certified

CERTIFIED STUDIOS SUPPORTED BY HAHNEMÜHLE

The Hahnemühle Certified Studio program is created to support professional print providers to achieve and maintain excellence in art reproduction, digital art and photographs.

A Certified Studio has been accredited by one of our technicians after a training session and assessment has been completed. Among many criteria, the studio must have an advanced education level regarding archivability/longevity of their prints, with full competence in fine art inkjet printing workflow. They must fully implement the Colour Management workflow.

Instructional orientation is conducted during an on-site visit by one of our technicians. The objective is to increase efficient printing workflow, accurate colour management, and correct print handling practices that will assure consistent high-quality output.

Each Certified Studio receives ongoing direct support, training and workshops, profiling services and product information directly from us at Hahnemühle FineArt.

Artists actively seek out a Certified Studio because they can rely on the business to provide consistent quality in all production steps from trained employees. Most importantly, they would receive assured archivability of all prints made on Hahnemühle Digital FineArt media and a consistent print quality

Criteria of Certification

  • advanced education level with regard to archivability / longevity
  • competence in FineArt Inkjet Printing Workflow
  • fully Implementation of the Colormanagement Workflow
  • standardized light color matching conditions
  • softproof-Possibilities
  • knowledge of the non-destructive image processing
  • proper usage of stated fine art inkjet printers
  • usage of Hahnemühle FineArt media

Benefits of being a Customer of a Certified Studio

  • Consistent quality in all production steps
  • Assured archivability of all prints
  • Reproducible consistent print quality
  • Trained employees


Hahnemühle “Vegan friendly” Bamboo Paper


Hahnemühle Bamboo is the first paper quality in the Hahnemühle TraditionalFineArt* Collection made of Bamboo fibres. Hahnemühle Bamboo paper also has a Certificate of Conformity to showthat is it vegan friendly. This means that the Hahnemühle Bamboo SketchPaper and Mixed Media Paper for traditional working artists does not contain raw materials from animalsources or gene-modified sources. Therefore this media is perfect for artiststhat care about how their lives have an impact on the lives of animals. 

Hahnemühle Bamboo (MatteFineArt smooth)

-         90% Bamboo Fibre& 10% Recycled Cotton.  The cottonrag, it’s naturally acid-free, light-resistant, and features extreme longevity

-         The Cotton isrecycled at the mill from roll ends and edge cuts – no outside papers; nopossible contamination!

-         Money from salesdonated to environmental projects around the world

-         Vegan Certifiedby German Officials

In a nut shell, the Hahnemühlemill has been certified vegan by German officials, and this paper is sized witha starch sizing, with no animal proteins or gelatins.  

 

The Arty Vegan Facebook Group

Leigh Sanders, the creator of‘The Arty Vegan’ Facebook groupexplains more aboutveganism and traditonal art: “Veganism is defined by Wikipedia as ‘the practiceof abstaining from the use of animal products, particularly in diet, as well asfollowing an associated philosophy that rejects the commodity status of sentientanimals’. They go on to say, ‘The term ethical vegan is often applied to thosewho not only follow a vegan diet, but who extend the vegan philosophy intoother areas of their lives and oppose the use of animals or animal products forany purpose’. Vegans care deeply about the environment and the lives of othersentient beings. Transitioning to veganism starts with looking at what you eat,giving up all foods that contain meat, eggs, dairy products, honey, etc…

Anything and everything that was once alive is nolonger a foodstuff. A person with an ethical vegan mindset will then also startquestioning the impact their day-to-day lives have. The clothes they wear(leather, fur, silk, etc), the cleaning products and toiletries they use (manyare tested on animals), cosmetics (many contain animal-by products) and soforth. As an artists, we want to use art products that are in sync with ourvegan principles.  For example :

·        Watercolour papers that are not sized using gelatin

·        Indian ink that doesn´t contain a shellac binder

·        Sepia ink that isn´t made from squid and cuttlefishink

·        A full range of black pigments that are not made fromcharred animal bones, as in bone charcoal

·        Red paint pigments that are not made from ground upcochineal beetles

·        watercolour paints that don´t contain oxgall

·        Artists’ pencils that don´t containbeeswax

·        canvases that haven´t been sized with rabbit-skin glue

·        natural Gesso that doesn´t contain gelatin

·        paintbrushes that are not made from animal hair likesable, squirrel, mongoose, horse and pig hair, to name a few.

 

To a person that cares deeply how their lives affectthe lives of animals, this information is disconcerting and deeply unsettling.Our art is an extension of who we are, and needs to therefore reflect ourethics. How can we in good conscience paint a masterpiece knowing the materialwe use indirectly caused the death of animals and insects? We can’t. We needvegan art material, quality art material at an affordable price so that we cancreate and express ourselves freely.’ You can read more from Leigh Sanders onthe following blog makeconsciouschoices.blogspot.com.

 

*FineArt printing is alsoreferred to as Giclée printing, the word comes from the French verb “Gicler”,meaning “to squirt” or “to spray” – exactly what is done in an inkjet printer.  The term was invented to differentiate thehigh quality work from expensive Iris inkjet machines that, at the time, costover $150,000

Go!

Hahnemuhle Certification

PHOTO SERVICE, UN STUDIO CERTIFIÉ ET ENDOSSÉ PAR HAHNEMÜHLE

Le programme « Hahnemühle Certified Studio » a été créé pour aider les fournisseurs d'imprimés professionnels à atteindre et à maintenir l'excellence dans la reproduction d'art, les œuvres numériques et les photographies.

Un studio certifié a été accrédité par l'un de nos techniciens après une session de formation et une évaluation terminée. Parmi de nombreux critères, le studio doit avoir un niveau de formation avancé en ce qui concerne l'archivabilité et la longévité de ses impressions, et posséder toutes les compétences requises pour le flux de production de travaux d'impression à jet d'encre. Ils doivent pleinement mettre en œuvre le flux de travail de gestion des couleurs.

L'orientation pédagogique est réalisée lors d'une visite sur site par un technicien Hahnemühle. L'objectif est d'accroître l'efficacité du flux d'impression, la gestion précise des couleurs et les pratiques correctes de traitement de l'impression, qui permettront d'obtenir une qualité de sortie constante.

AVANTAGES D'ÊTRE UN CLIENT D'UN STUDIO CERTIFIÉ
  • Qualité constante à toutes les étapes de la production
  • Archivabilité assurée de toutes les impressions
  • Qualité d'impression constante et reproductibl
  • Employés formés
CRITÈRES DE CERTIFICATION
  • Niveau d'études supérieur en matière d'archivabilité et de longévité
  • Compétence dans le flux de travaux d'impression FineArt Inkjet
  • Mise en œuvre complète du flux de travail de gestion des couleurs
  • Conditions de correspondance des couleurs de lumière normalisées
  • Possibilités d'épreuves douces
  • Connaissance du traitement d'image non destructif
  • Utilisation appropriée des imprimantes à jet d'encre de qualité supérieure
  • Utilisation du support Hahnemühle FineArt

Hahnemühle Bambou «Papier Vegan friendly»

Hahnemühle Bamboo est lepremier papier de qualité de la collection Hahnemühle Traditional FineArt *composée de fibres de bambou.  Le papierHahnemühle Bamboo a également un certificat de conformité indiquant qu'il estvégétalien. Cela signifie que le Hahnemühle Bambou ne contient pas de matièrespremières d'origine animale ni de sources « modifiées dans ses gènes».  Ce média est donc idéal pour les artistessoucieux de l'impact de leur vie sur la vie des animaux.

Hahnemühle Bamboo (Matte FineArt Smooth)

- 90% de fibres debambou et 10% de coton recyclé.  Le « CotonRag » est naturellement sans acide, résistant à la lumière et doté d’unelongévité extrême.

- Le coton est recycléà l'usine à partir des bouts de rouleaux et des coupes de bords de papiers.  Il n’y a aucuns papiers extérieurs dansl’usine donc aucune contamination possible!

- Les profits provenantdes ventes de ce papier sont versés à des projets environnementaux dans lemonde entier par Hahnemühle

En résumé, l'usineHahnemühle a été certifiée végétalienne par des responsables de gouvernementallemand.  Ce papier est encollé avec de l’amidon,sans protéines animales ni gélatines.


Le groupe Facebook Arty Vegan

Leigh Sanders,créatrice du groupe Facebook ‘The Arty Vegan’ Facebook group , parle du véganisme et l'art traditionnel:  Le végétalisme est défini par Wikipedia comme «la pratique consistant à s'abstenir de l'utilisation de produits d'origineanimale, notamment dans l'alimentation, ainsi qu'à suivre une philosophie quirejette le statut des animaux comme marchandise».  Ils ajoutent : « La terminologie éthiquevégétalienne s’applique souvent à ceux qui non seulement suivent un régimevégétalien, mais qui appliquent la philosophie végétalienne à d’autres domainesde leur vie et s'opposent à l'utilisation d'animaux ou de produits d'origineanimale.  Les végétaliens apportent unegrande importance à l'environnement et à la vie des autres êtres « sensibles ». La transition vers le véganisme commencepar regarder ce que vous mangez, en abandonnant tous les aliments contenant dela viande, des œufs, des produits laitiers, du miel, etc.

Pour les végétaliens,tout ce qui était en vie n’est pas une denrée alimentaire. Une personne ayantun état d'esprit et une éthique végétalienne commencera également às'interroger sur son impact de la vie quotidienne.  Par exemple, ils porteront attention aux vêtementsqu’ils portent (cuir, fourrure, soie, etc.), aux produits de nettoyage et auxarticles de toilette qu’ils utilisent (la plupart sont testés sur des animaux),aux cosmétiques (beaucoup contiennent des produits dérivés d’animaux), etc.  


Les artistesvégétaliens souhaitent donc utiliser des produits artistiques en accord avec leursprincipes végétaliens.  Par exemple :


• Papiers aquarelles qui ne sont pas calibrés avec de la gélatine;
• Encre de Chine ne contenant pas de liant à la gomme laque;
• Encre sépia non faite d’encre de calmar et de seiche;
• Pigments noirs (encre ou autre) qui ne sont pas fabriqués à partir d’osd’animaux carbonisés, comme dans le charbon de bois;
• Pigments de peinture rouge qui ne sont pas fabriqués à partir de coléoptèresde la cochenille broyés;
• Peintures à l’aquarelle qui ne contiennent pas de galle de bœuf ;
• Crayons d’artistes ne contenant pas de cire d’abeille ;
• Toiles qui n’ont pas été collées avec de la colle de peau de lapin;
• Gesso naturel qui ne contient pas de gélatine;
• Pinceaux qui ne sont pas fabriqués à partir de poils d'animaux comme lazibeline, l'écureuil, la mangouste, le crin et le crocodile, pour n'en nommerque quelques-uns.

Pour une personne qui se soucieprofondément de la façon dont sa vie affecte la vie des animaux, cetteinformation est déconcertante et profondément troublante.  L’art en respect avec les principesvégétaliens est un prolongement de ce que les végétaliens sont et cela doitdonc refléter leur éthique.  Lesvégétaliens se disent : « Comment pouvons-nous en toute consciencepeindre un chef-d'œuvre sachant que le matériau que nous utilisons aindirectement causé la mort d'animaux et d'insectes?  Nous ne pouvons pas. Nous avons besoin dematériel d’art végétalien, de matériel d’art de qualité à un prix abordablepour que nous puissions créer et nous exprimer librement. »

Vous pouvez en lireplus sur Leigh Sanders dans son blog suivant : makeconsciouschoices.blogspot.com.

 

* L'impression FineArtest également appelée impression Giclée. Le mot vient du verbe français«Gicler», qui signifie «vaporiser» - exactement ce qui est fait dans uneimprimante à jet d'encre. Le terme a été inventé pour différencier le travailde haute qualité des machines à jet d'encre Iris coûteuses, qui coûtaient alorsà l’époque plus de 150 000 $.